Overindulge? Who Me?

2 Peter: 1:5-6: “Make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness.”

I turned on the TV to hear the news and the weather report. In a commercial, the person said this is the season “of overspending and overindulging.”

Years ago, a friend told me she gains 10-15 pounds every Christmas season. My mind pictured her in January with her eyes bulging out of her head as she tried to squeeze into her jeans. Vaseline on her legs wouldn’t have helped her slide her body into those jeans.

An acquaintance told me that when his credit card bill from last Christmas came it was as high as the national debt.

No wonder God tells us to add self-control and perseverance to our faith. Let’s post this Scripture on the pantry and refrigerator doors. Let’s memorize it to help us practice self-control and perseverance when we shop or eat. Those who drink alcohol can also use this passage to help them.

Dear God, help me exercise self-control and perseverance. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Application: How will you avoid overindulgence this week?

—-

Note: “Surviving the Holidays with a Dysfunctional Family” Workshop will be lead my Yvonne online in the CIR Chat Rooms
Sunday December 12 at
8:30PM Eastern | 7:30PM Central | 5:30PM Pacific | 1:30AM GMT/UTC
Lead by Yvonne Ortega LPC, LSATP, CCDVC

Don’t miss CIR’s Daily Article !

Copyright 2010, Yvonne Ortega, , LPC, LSATP, CCDVC
All Rights Reserved. Used by Permission.

Yvonne is a Speaker, Author, Counselor, Cancer Survivor and
serves on the Board of Directors of Christians in Recovery.

She is the author of Finding Hope for Your Journey through Breast Cancer.

Visit her website: http://YvonneOrtega.com

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.